Agarwood and Hong Kong

What is Agarwood?
What is the difference between the agarwood we often hear and the earth agarwood? What is Agarwood?
In fact, agarwood is a wood block with resin produced by the agarwood tree. These wood blocks with resin contain unique fragrance and medicinal properties, so they will be incorporated into Chinese herbal medicines and fragrance-making materials. The formation of these resins is not easy. After the agarwood trees are damaged by natural disasters, insects or man-made damage, the trees will secrete a unique resin to form at the injured location to protect the tree itself. Since Agarwood itself is tasteless, traditional Shannon will make some scars on the tree to make it fragrant. Shannon will not harm the life of trees, and the time to collect agarwood is generally five years or more after the scars are made. Therefore, trees will not be threatened to their lives due to man-made injuries. However, due to the upsurge in the sale of agarwood in the Mainland in the past ten years, many illegal immigrants came to Hong Kong to collect agarwood in a short period of time. They did not hesitate to chop them down, and even cut down and steal the agarwood without incense, resulting in a large amount of wild soil. After the death of agarwood, relevant conservationists discovered that these crazy felling practices of agarwood have spread all over Lantau Island, outlying islands, and the New Territories! These crazy and short-sighted felling behaviors will make wild agarwood extinct and make people in the world lose the opportunity to taste agarwood. At present, the only way to conserve wild agarwood is to use planting agarwood instead of growing agarwood. Only in this way can the traditional incense culture continue and ensure the biodiversity of the wild ecology.




The relationship between Agarwood and Hong Kong:

The origin of Hong Kong place names is closely related to Agarwood. In ancient times, the Dongguan generation belonging to Hong Kong was famous for artificially planting Agarwood. According to the Song Dynasty’s records: “The past fragrances were all born in heaven. Fortunately, Dongguan used manpower to make up for it... Also." And the agarwood, which "replenishes it with manpower," was originally handed over and transplanted to Guangguan, which is especially suitable for Wantu.

The main reasons for the prosperity of Wanxiang are the geographical environment. The so-called "Southern Guangdong is called the country of fragrant incense... Yue Wan is like oranges and citrus fruits, and it is unknown that it is suitable for Wanxiang." The second is planting technology. "Scent is precious in time", I know that the spring climate is humid, and the harvested Wanxiang fragrance is full of moisture; the summer climate is hot, and the harvested spices are drier; in autumn and winter, the climate becomes cooler, the essence is restrained, and the aroma is the purest.

Tsim Sha Tau (now Sha Tsim Tsui) was also called "Xiang Bu Tou", the place where Guanxiang was distributed and transshipped, and Shek Pai Wan (now Aberdeen) was also called "Hong Kong"-from which the place name of Hong Kong came from.

It can be seen that Hong Kong is named Hong Kong because Hong Kong has been a port for agarwood trafficking since the Song Dynasty. Hundreds of years ago, villagers in many ancient villages in Hong Kong also used Agarwood as the feng shui tree for their villages. It can be seen that Agarwood is an indispensable part of Hong Kong's local culture.

In the hot speculation environment, wild agarwood is no longer an ordinary fragrant medicine. The online speculation and sale of illegally felled Hong Kong wild agarwood on the mainland has not only distort the basic value of traditional incense culture, it can be said to be lawless.

Many mainland WeChat public accounts frantically promote the investment value of wild agarwood and exaggerate its medicinal value. There are also many unscrupulous businessmen engaged in the sale of illegally felled Hong Kong wild agarwood in those QQ incense road groups. They told me more frankly that many people just slash with the mountains and take them everywhere. I realize that there are Hong Kong Xiangyou in the QQ group. He often buys illegally felled wild Agarwood from Hong Kong from illegal merchants in the Mainland. Because wild Agarwood is almost extinct, it is necessary to buy more stocks as soon as possible. Agarwood has become an investment tool like gold.

You only need to search for wild agarwood from Hong Kong on Taobao, and you will be able to find a few pages of wild agarwood from Hong Kong for sale. Some agarwood sellers may know that the authorities are cracking down on the sale of illegally felled wild agarwood in Hong Kong. They will be able to hide from the sky by claiming that it is produced elsewhere. Only by banning the sale of wild agarwood products from the source can the crazy tree cutting be stopped.

Lovers of traditional fragrance art know how to cherish and respect everything that nature has given us. I don't want to see the wild Agarwood go extinct one day. Agarwood is one of the important spices in traditional incense culture, but there are still various incense recipes that do not require agarwood. Facing the threat of extinction, agarwood can be replaced by other fragrant medicines for sustainable development.


In addition, one of the methods for sustainable development and protection of ecological diversity is to plant agarwood instead of wild agarwood. As long as we support the industrial development and technological improvement of the cultivation of Aquilaria, the wild agarwood can be completely banned.

In order to prevent illegally felled wild Agarwood in Hong Kong from continuing to flow into the market in any form, immediately legislatively banned the sale of wild Agarwood resin and its products.

More references:

The relationship between Agarwood and Hong Kong by the Association for Ecological and Cultural Conservation of Agarwood
http://incensetrees.wix.com/incensetrees#!about1/c21mk

土沉香與香港

什麽是土沉香?
我們經常聽到的沉香和土沉香有什麽分別呢?什麽是土沉香?
其實沉香就是土沉香樹生產出來帶有樹脂的木塊。這些帶有樹脂的木塊蘊含獨特的香味和藥性,因此會被納入中藥材和造香材料之中。這些樹脂的生成是不容易的。土沉香樹受到了天然災害、蟲害或人爲傷害後,樹木會就會分泌獨特的樹脂在受傷位置結成,以保護樹木本身。由於土沉香本身是沒有味道的,因此傳統香農會在樹木身上弄一些傷痕,讓它結香。香農不會傷害樹木生命,而且收集沉香的時間一般是弄傷痕的之後五年或以上。因此樹木不會因爲人爲的傷害而受到生命威脅。但是由於近十年内地興起炒賣沉香的熱潮,很多非法入境者來港爲了在短時間内收集沉香,不惜胡亂斬伐,甚至連沒有結香的土沉香木也砍下偷走,導致大量野生土沉香死亡,有關保育人士發現,這些瘋狂的砍伐土沉香行爲已經遍佈大嶼山、離島、新界各處!這些瘋狂而短視的砍伐行爲會讓野生土沉香絕種,讓世界上的人失去品嘗沉香的機會。現在唯一一個保育野生土沉香的方法,就是使用種植沉香代替也生沉香,只有這樣,才能讓傳統的香文化延續下去,也確保了野生生態的生物多樣性。




土沉香與香港的關係:

 

香港地名的由來與沉香關係密切。古時,香港所屬東莞一代以人工種植土沉香聞名於世。據宋代人記載:“昔之香生於天者已盡,幸而東莞以人力補之……蓋以人力為香,香生於人者,任人取之,自享其力,鬼神不得主之也。”而“以人力補之”的沉香,本出交阯,移植廣管,而于莞土尤宜。

莞香興盛的主要原因,一是地理環境,所謂“粵南稱眾香國……越莞則如橘與枳矣,蓋未知其獨宜莞土也。”二是種植技術,當地人“鑿香貴以時”,深知春天氣候濕潤,採收的莞香多水氣;夏季氣候炎熱,採收的香料較乾燥;秋冬季節,氣候轉涼,精華內斂,香氣最為純正。

莞香集散轉運之地尖沙頭(今沙尖咀)也稱“香埠頭”,石排灣(今香港仔)也稱“香港”——香港地名即由此而來。

由此可見,香港之所名為香港,是因為香港自宋朝以來是販運沉香的港口。幾百年前,多個香港古老村落的村民也以土沉香作爲建村的風水樹。由此可見,土沉香是香港本土文化不可或缺的部分。

熾熱的炒賣環境下,野生沉香已經不再是普通的香藥。内地網上炒賣及販賣非法砍伐得來的香港野生土沉香的情況,不但是歪曲傳統香文化的基本價值,可以說是目無法紀。

很多内地的微信公衆號瘋狂宣傳野生沉香的投資價值同誇其大藥用價值。還有很多不法商人在那些QQ香道群從事販賣非法砍伐得來的香港野生土沉香。他們更坦白的告訴我,很多人就是隨山亂斬,隨處拿。我認識到有QQ群裏面的香港香友,他經常向内地不法商人購買非法砍伐得來的香港野生土沉香,因爲野生土沉香將近滅絕,所以要儘快買多點存貨珍藏。沉香變成了好像黃金一樣的投資工具。

大家只需要在淘寳搜尋香港野生沉香,就能夠找到滿佈幾頁的香港野生沉香可供售賣。部分沉香售賣者可能知道當局打擊售賣非法砍伐的香港野生沉香,他們會透過聲稱是其他地方出產而能夠瞞天過海。只有從源頭禁售野生沉香製成品,才可停止瘋狂的斬樹。

傳統香藝愛好者是懂得珍惜同尊重大自然賜給我們的一切。不會想見到野生土沉香走上絕種的一天。沉香在傳統香文化之中重要的香料之一,但是仍然有各種造香的香方是不需要用沉香的。面對絕種的威脅,爲了可持續發展,沉香是可以被其他的香藥所代替。


此外,其中一個可持續發展和保護生態多樣性的方法,以種植沉香取代野生沉香。只要支持種植土沉香的產業發展和技術改良,便可完全取締野生沉香。

爲了防止非法砍伐的香港野生土沉香以任何形式繼續流入市場,並且立即立法禁售野生土沉香樹脂及其製成品。

更多參考資料:

土沉香生態及文化保育協會
土沉香和香港的關係
http://incensetrees.wix.com/incensetrees#!about1/c21mk